Devon residents recognised in The Queen’s Birthday Honours List

News Desk
Authored by News Desk
Posted Wednesday, June 12, 2019 - 3:44pm

Twenty one Devon residents have been honoured in HM The Queen’s Birthday Honours List this year.

The honours list recognises the extraordinary achievements of a wide range of people across the UK, for their efforts to improve the social mobility of those from underprivileged backgrounds.  That could be through providing care, education or innovative business and employment support.

More than a thousand people received an award this year, including 920 candidates selected at BEM, MBE and OBE level.

In Devon, the list, published this weekend, includes:

Commander of the Order of the British Empire:

Professor Tamsin Jane Ford (Tamsin Cromwell) from Exeter. For services to Psychiatry

Officers of the Order of the British Empire:

Professor Fred Frank Land, from Totnes.  For services to the Information Systems Industry
Mrs Ann Margaret Marcer from Tavistock. For services to UK Aid and Young Women.
Robert Ormsby from Coryton, Near Okehampton. For services to Law Enforcement.

Members of the Order of the British Empire: 

Professor Richard Arthur Betts form Whimple. For Services to Understanding Climate Change. 
Mrs Eileen Biddlecombe and Mr Roger Biddlecombe from Ivybridge. For services to Children and Families in Plymouth.
Michael Adrien (Ben) Byrom from Braunton. For services to Flood Resilience and the community in Braunton,
Mrs Marcia Hipwell and  Martin Andrew Hipwell from Plymouth. For services to Fostering in Plymouth
Mrs Hilary Knight from Plymouth. For services to the community in Plymouth
Miss Christine Margaret Pickersgill from Axminster. For services to education
Ms Jennifer Mary Stephens from Exeter.  For services to Social Care
John Philip Turner from Okehampton.  For services to Healthcare and the community of Portsmouth
Mrs Melanie Jane Walker from Ivybridge.  For services to Mental Health and Learning Disabilities in the NHS

Medallist of the Order of the British Empire:

Mrs Rosemary Ann Fell from Axminster.  For voluntary service to the British Malaysian Society
Mrs Carol Anne Gilson from Honiton. For services to the community on Honiton
Terence Arthur Knights from Exmouth. For voluntary service to Young People and the community of Exmouth
Mrs Sarah Neil from Plymouth. For services to the Trichorhinophalangeal Syndrome Support Group
Mrs Mary Isobel Nunn for Crediton. For voluntary service to First Air Provision in Devon.
Ian Kenneth Grant Sherriff from Plymouth.  For service to People affected by Dementia.

HM Lord-Lieutenant of Devon, David Fursdon said: “It is good to see worthy people in Devon getting the reward and recognition that they deserve."

Share this