An In-depth Look at the Last Three Winners of the Grand National

Mike Page
Authored by Mike Page
Posted Sunday, March 31, 2024 - 10:14am

As the clock ticks down to April 13th, the anticipation surrounding the 176th annual running of the Grand National at Aintree reaches fever pitch. This year's instalment of the world's most famous steeplechase is not just another chapter in its storied existence; it marks a significant shift with a newly scheduled start time aimed at accommodating a wider audience.

Fans had become accustomed to the race's famed 4:15 pm start time. However, that was changed to 5:15 pm in 2015 to avoid a clash with the UK's jam-packed domestic football schedule. Now, nine years on, the start time has been changed again, this time moved forward by 15 minutes in the hopes of securing even more viewers and that the ground will be better suited to the 40-plus horses competing.

But who has won the famed race in recent years and the £500,000 prize pot that victory brings with it? Let's take a look.

2023 - Corach Rambler

The 2023 Grand National was a spectacle of endurance and skill. Corach Rambler emerged victorious against a competitive field. Trained by Lucinda Russell - who became one of the few female trainers to secure victory in the race - this formidable eight-year-old showcased exceptional stamina and jumping ability throughout the race. The victory was a dramatic affair, with the eventual champion overcoming obstacles and rivals with aplomb. Jockey Derek Fox managed to steer the favourite home, finishing two and a half lengths clear of Vanillier.

This year, oddsmakers pricing the Grand National with OddsChecker have made the reigning champion the short-priced favourite to etch his name in the history books alongside Tiger Roll and Red Rum by winning back-to-back races. It remains to be seen whether he can live up to the billing.

2022 - Noble Yeats

Noble Yeats' victory in the 2022 Grand National was a story of the underdog prevailing against all odds. Ridden by amateur jockey Sam Waley-Cohen, Noble Yeats defied expectations to win the race, making history in the process.

Waley-Cohen, who announced his retirement shortly after the race, delivered a masterful ride, navigating Noble Yeats through the field at the lengthy price of 50/1, making him the longest-priced victor of the race since Auroras Encore's victory at 66/1 nine years prior.

2021 - Minella Times

Minella Times' triumph in the 2021 Grand National was a landmark moment, marking jockey Rachael Blackmore's entry into the record books as the first female jockey to win the race. Riding for Irish trainer Henry de Bromhead, the Irish-bred horse delivered a performance that was both graceful and powerful. The horse displayed impeccable timing and agility, taking the lead at just the right moment and maintaining it against a strong field, eventually winning out by five lengths from 100/1 rank outsider Balko Des Flos.


Share this