Medical School celebrates exceptional achievements of students and staff

Students and staff have been recognised for their outstanding achievements at the fourth University of Exeter Medical School’s annual Prizes and Awards ceremonyl.

Some of the brightest and best students from the Medicine, Medical Sciences and Medical Imaging programmes were honoured with top accolades across a range of categories at an evening event at the Eden Project. They were recognised for academic achievement, commitment, and impact on their communities.

The awards also recognise inspirational staff, with students nominating teachers who have gone above and beyond to provide support and encouragement. The winners are based in both the Royal Devon & Exeter and the Royal Cornwall Hospital Trusts, as well in GP practices across Devon and Cornwall.

Professor Clive Ballard, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean of the University of Exeter Medical School, congratulating staff and students, said: “I’m proud to see so many of our students excelling. Their remarkable efforts and accomplishments are a promising indication that the next generation of health professionals and medical scientists will be well-equipped to tackle the evolving challenges in medicine and healthcare. Being among our prize winners takes hard work and dedication, and that’s all nurtured by outstanding teaching and support.”

Among the winners was student Bethany Crawford, who won three awards in her final year on the Medical Sciences programme.

Bethany said: “I was really shocked to find out I had won the prizes. It feels amazing to see my hard work pay off and it’s given me more confidence in my own abilities. I think I can put it down to choosing modules and assignments which I found interesting, taking advantage of opportunities presented to me, asking for help and feedback and trying to achieve a good work-life balance.”

The Duchy Health Prize, awarded for the first time this year to the highest achieving final year Medical student across all assessments in Cornwall, went to Medicine student Jonathan Abeles.

Jonathan said he was “very flattered“ to win the award, which reflected strong performance across all his assessments. “The Duchy health Charity does amazing work, and this has really motivated me. It’s a fantastic confidence boost.”

Antoinette Wilcox-McLean from Duchy Health Charity said: “So much effort goes into Medicine student training and we wanted to recognise that motivation. Jonathan is clearly exceptionally dedicated and it’s a privilege to reward that with this award.”

Among the awards was the Peter Thursby Memorial Prize, presented in memory of internationally renowned sculptor Peter Thursby, who died in 2011 and was cared for in Lucerne House in Exeter following his diagnosis of Alzheimer’s Disease. The prize is awarded to students who have submitted the strongest applications that are derived from dementia-related work they have carried out as part of their degree.

The Rothband Prize for Innovation was awarded to Medical Imaging students Fakhri Haziq Abd Hakip, Siti Nushahira Aboo Samah, Haziyah Hassan and Rabiatul Pg Zulkifli.

Alex Ringer, Territory Sales Manager for Rothschild, said: “Being innovators ourselves, Rothschild understand the importance of excellence in innovation within Medical Imaging research. The high quality of teaching at Exeter means students are particularly engaged and I’m sure they’ll excel in their future careers.”

The full list of winners are:



BSc Medical Sciences Prizes

Year 1 – Mary Shifona Kumarasingam

Year 2 – Stuart Walding

PTY – Rhoda Frost

Final Year – Bethany Crawford

Special Commendation for Reflective Practice and Professionalism

Year 1 – Sophie Spicer

Year 2 – Bradley Hoskin

PTY – Laura Hollands, Rhoda Frost

Final Year – Bethany Crawford

Special Commendation for Scientific Research and Communication

Year 1 – Mary Shifona Kumarasingam

Year 2 – Melissa Sampson

Final Year – Bethany Crawford


BSc Medical Imaging Prizes

Year 1 – Katie Kinnon, Thomas Eustice, Bethany Warren

Year 2 – Elizabeth Washak, Eleanor Lucas, Zoe Packham Smith

Final Year – Zamir Athar, Rosie Attwell, Robert Zingler

Medical Imaging Society of Radiographers

Robert Zingler, Amir Athar, Niki Papapchristoforou


Medical Imaging Clinical Performance

Year 1 – Bethany Warren

Year 2 – Anna Kingwell

Final Year – Annabelle Stenhouse

Medical Imaging Clinical Professionalism

Year 1 – Gemma Young Santos

Year 2 – Anna Kingwell

Final Year – Lee White


Medical Imaging Outstanding Patient Care

Year 1 – Katie Kinnon

Year 2 – Paul Miles

Final Year – Julian Lowey

Medical Imaging Exceptional Dean’s Commendation

Henrietta Dalton


Rothband Prize for Innovation

Fakhri Haziq Abd Hakip, Siti Nushahira Aboo Samah, Haziyah Hassan, Rabiatul Pg Zulkifli

BMBS AMK Best Overall Performance

Year 1 – Samantha Lennox

Year 2 – Jacob Bruten

Year 3 – Samuel Gallagher

Year 4 – Amaan Hussain

BMBS OCSE Best Overall Score

Year 2 – Claudia Burton

Year 3 – Louisa Cunliffe

Year 4 – Yashna Nadkarni


BMBS Special Unit Best Overall Score

Year 1 – Emily Lloyd

Year 2 – Matthew Saint

Year 3 – Billie Mallard

Year 4 – Ciara Greer, Amy Hough, Olivia Ware, Evana Fleeming


Duchy Health Prize

Jonathan Abeles

Dr Grant Neumegen Prize

Visha Rach


Paul Lock Clinical Academic Prize in Paediatrics

Lydia Newman, Dominic Woolridge

Peter Thursby Memorial Prize

Cariosa Devlin, Annabel Callan


Elective Photo Prize

Winner – Soltan Hussein

Runner Up – Olivia Sharples



Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching Team Award for Hospital Teams, Palliative Care

Truro, RCHT – Dr Deborah Stevens, Dr Carolyn Campbell, Dr Jane Gibbins, Dr Kirsty Scott, Angela Hart, Andy Shury


Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching Team Award for Hospital Teams, Multiple Co-Morbidities

Exeter – Dr Ray Sheridan, Dr Chris Baker

Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching Team Award for GP Practices

Truro, Trescobeas Surgery– Dr David Miller, Yorick O’Nyons


Excellence and Innovation in Clinical Teaching Team Award for GP Practices 

Exeter, Barton Surgery – Dr Elizabeth Alborough, Chris Walsh, Richard Sharman, Roger Walsh

Citizenship Awards

Extra-Curricular – Ailise Smith

Community – Cameron Boyle, Serun Dupont

Charitable – Sara Khalid


Staff Aureus Awards:

Medical Imaging Supporting Hand – Dr Rachel Palfrey

Medical Sciences Supporting Hand – Dr Samuel Pollard

Most Inspirational Teacher – Dr Fred Roberts (Preclinical), Kandy Collings (Clinical)

The Shoulder Donor – Dr Susanna Hodgkinson (Preclinical), Dr Ian Fussell (Clinical)

The Proclaimers Award – Dr Julie Thacker

Inspirer – Dr Jug Ehmann


Dean’s Fund Awards:

Ramiz Ahmed Man, Waheed-Ul-Rahman Ahmed, Anna Broadbent, Annabel Callan, Sarah Camp, William Caufield, Bogdan Chiva Giurca, Rea-Danielle Christopher-Grant, Megan Davis, Praveena Deekonda, Seren Dupont, Karen Ellis, Amy Fisher, Rhoda Frost, Samuel Gallagher, Andrew Gaukroger, Oliver Glaisyer, Ciara Greer, Hannah Hassani, Brittany Heuerman-Williamson, Amy Hough, James Hughes, Sara Khalid, Susannah Kingsbury, Jonathan Outlaw, Louise Le Blevec, Kelsey Lennox, Lily McDougall, Kate Mansfield, Rebekah Morris, Navin Nagesh Mukundu, Benjamin Pearson, Dominic Proctor, Muntasha Quddus, Kate Quirke, Ross Moore, Ailise Smith, Luke Tanner, Kerry Thorne, Tom Tozer, Clare Treharne, Daniel Vowles, Edward Wigmore, Charlotte Williams.