Plymouth and Devon Chamber respond to SW GE2015 results

News Desk
Authored by News Desk
Posted Friday, May 8, 2015 - 5:18pm

Peter Hartland, Chief Executive of Plymouth and Devon Chamber of Commerce said: “I would like to congratulate the Conservative Party on their election victory in the South West.

“Businesses in all parts of the United Kingdom and particularly the South West want to see a pro-growth, pro-enterprise programme – building on the positive steps taken, and lessons learned, during the Coalition years. In order to continue the overall steady growth we have seen in the region, we need the next government to continue its work of cutting the deficit, in tandem with making significant investment in our transport infrastructure.

"The Conservatives now appear to have a clear mandate to take bold and important decisions, and must use it to help British businesses invest and grow. In return, business stands ready to work with the new government to deliver prosperity, jobs and sustained economic growth.

“We heard from George Osborne MP earlier this year, on the Conservative’s Long Term Economic Plan commitment for the South West and I, along with many businesses and partner organisations in the region, look forward to working with our new MP’s to see these plans come to fruition.”

Breakdown of constituency seats following General Election 2015:

Oliver Colivile MP (Conservative) – retained Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport seat ,  Jonny Mercer MP (Conservative) – won Plymouth Moor View seat and Gary Streeter MP (Conservative)– retained South West Devon seat

South East Cornwall: Sheryll Murray MP (Conservative) – retained South East Cornwall seat


•         Mel Stride (Conservative) retained Central Devon seat
•         Hugo Swire MP (Conservative) elected for East Devon
•         Ben Bradshaw MP (Labour) elected for Exeter
•         Dr Sarah Wollaston MP (Conservative) elected for Totnes
•         Geoffrey Cox MP (Conservative) elected for Torridge and West Devon
•         Peter Heaton-Jones MP (Conservative) won for North Devon
•         Anne Marie Morris MP (Conservative) retained Newton Abbot seat
•         Neil Parish MP (Conservative) retained Tiverton and Honiton seat
•         Kevin Foster MP (Conservative) won Torbay seat

Share this